Rainbows

Rainbows are a sign of hope, love, and equality. They are the beauty in the midst of a rainy day. They are the symbol for diversity, pride, and peace. They show us that something good can come after something bad.

During this pandemic many ideas are popping up all over the world to help us come together as humans, as a global community, while also staying physically apart. One idea my family and I have really latched onto is regarding rainbows.

I found a post online suggesting local neighbourhoods put rainbows in their windows for families to seek out during walks and drives. Due to isolation, and social distancing, children are home without their friends. Parents are also missing friends, family and socializing. This is a fun and easy way to bring communities together despite being apart. The goal? Count as many rainbows as you can find on your walk or drive either alone or with your children/families. See who finds them first. Make it a little friendly competition. Capture them on your phone and share on social media. And also feel reminded that the homes with rainbows are standing with you, that while physically alone you are emotionally bonded with others.

As a person who is home and immunosuppressed, and as such one of the more vulnerable members of the world right now, I feel that anything that can help alleviate the feelings isolation, promote social distancing, and support my own family in fun and engaging activities is worth its weight in gold. And we know what we may find at the end of a rainbow 🤩.

So my family all chipped in and we made a big rainbow. Hubbie drew it, I measured, my daughter held it tight. My daughter and I made the colours and painted. My hubbie hung it in the window and added holiday lights.

I would love this trend, and other trends like it, to spread quicker than the virus.

Kindness and love, unity during separation, hope and equality, beauty after a storm, all of this and much more is what our rainbow stands for. I’d love to see you stand with me.

Stay safe everyone. 🌈

Leave a comment